Here’s to Sunsets, a Goodbye and the Start of Something New

Published by

on

Catching the sunset yesterday was pretty significant and symbolic of the end of a chapter in my life. Yesterday was my last day at my very first job as a dietitian. I said goodbye to the place where I received my foundation as a dietitian, grew as a dietitian, and gained confidence as a dietitian. Or maybe it was more as a person. I was fortunate enough to work with some wonderful souls who impacted me in far more ways than merely my job. The day I gave my notice I felt very emotional and after coming home I finally gave in, and felt, and cried and I realized it was ok to get upset because I was saying goodbye to a period of my life that lasted for 5 years. After I went through that emotion I was able to look ahead and remind myself why I chose to leave- It was the urge to move onward, to push myself out of my comfort zone, to see what I am capable of. And I know that no matter where this next chapter takes me, where I end up, if I fail or succeed and probably a little of both, I’ll have my family and friends for support, love, encouragement, and I’ll take a little piece of each person who impacted me on the job along with me. I guess that’s life.  BAC4BE06-39A3-43C3-BD0A-2E601ED7C7C7

This poem was sent to me today:

“Bad, or good as it happens to be, that is what it is to exist! It is as though I have been silent and fuddled with sleep all my life. In spite of all, I know now that at least it is better to go always toward the summer,towards those burning seas of light; to sit at night in The forecastle lost in an unfamiliar dream, when the spirit becomes filled with stars, instead of wounds and good and compassionate and tender. To sail into an unknown spring, or receive ones baptism on storm’s promontory, where the solitary albatross heels over in the gal, and at last come to land. To know the earth under ones foot and go, in wild delight, ways where there  is water.” —Malcom Lowry

-Lauren

Leave a comment